About US

The National Biotechnology Biosafety Consortium (NBBC), is a new platform created under the auspices of the Program for Biosafety Systems and Croplife to foster information sharing and communication on biotechnology and biosafety. The NBBC is additionally expected to provide communication support services on all aspects of modern biotechnology and biosafety.

The consortium was set up because of an urgent need for a knowledgeable group that can put out right biosafety and biotechnology information to check dissemination of falsehood to the public as Nigeria  prepares to key into biotechnology as a viable means  to agriculturally diversify its economy.

At inauguration, members of the consortium were mandated to take a holistic look at biosafety and modern biotechnology issues in the interest of the Nigeria. They were also charged  to share information and knowledge on modern agricultural biotechnology and biosafety matters through strategic communications and outreach to create an enabling environment for sustainable development in Nigeria, in service to the Nation.


Election was conducted for the selection of principal executive officers of the NBBC. Prof. P.C. Onyenekwe was elected Chairman; and Edel-Quinn Agbaegbu, as Secretary. Dr. Celestine Aguoru and Dr. C.O. Onyia were respectively elected for the post of First and Second Vice Chairman; respectively. Dr. Rose Gidado, the Country Representative of the Open Forum on Agricultural Biotechnology (OFAB), was chosen to oversee the activities of the organisation. Thereafter, the NBBC Constitution was handed over to the elected Chairman.

First Meeting Of NBBC EXCO

The first meeting of the NBBC Executive Committee (NBBC EXCO) took place shortly after the inauguration and was presided over by the Chairman of Consortium, Professor P.C. Onyenekwe. In attendance were these executive members: In attendance also were Dr. Celestine Aguoru, Dr. Oby Onyia,  Dr. Godfrey Okoye , Dr. Rose Gidado and Edel-Quinn Agbaegbu.

Below is the list of some members of the Consortium, their organization





1 Prof. B.O. Solomon


Ife Biotec Group, OAU


2 Dr. C. O. Onyia


Godfrey Okoye University Enugu


3 Chief Daniel Okafor


Potato Farmers AFAN


4 Dr. Celestine Aguoru


Federal university of Agriculture Makurdi


5 Dr. M. N. Ishaq


NCRI Badegi


6 Dr. Chinwe Ezejiofor


Green Women for Change


7 Engr. Akinsoji Akinsola


Real Life Global Humanitarian


8 Utaan Omozosi Domnica




9 Adewoyin Eniola




10 Achimugu Ejura Christy




11 Abugu Modesta




12 Mr. E. C. Nwachukwu




13 Dahiru Emeka Franklin




14 Phar. Dunkwu A. F




15 Ogundare A. O


Federal Ministry of Science and Technology


16 Prof. E. H. Kwon-Ndung


Genetic Soc. Of Nigeria


17 Agbaegbu Edel-Quinn I


Every Woman Hope Centre


18 Dr. Rose M. Gidado




21 Adeyemo Modupe B




22 Dr. Nkechi Mba


Consumer Protection Council (CPC)


23 Prof P C Onyenekwe SHESTCO/NSUK